Odisha: Naveen Patnaik to take oath as CM for fifth consecutive term

Odisha: Naveen Patnaik to take oath as CM for fifth consecutive term

Naveen Patnaik made his oath in a public office in Bhubaneswar as Chief Minister of Odisha on Wednesday morning. This is the fifth term of Patnaik as the CM. In India, only two Chief Ministers have been CM for five years or more. Jyoti Basu of West Bengal and Pawan Chamling of Sikkim.

Despite mercury reaching 40 degrees Celsius, more than 10,000 people attended this ceremony. The swearing-in Ceremony was attended by Naveen Patnaik’s elder brother Prem Patnaik and the famous writer Gita Mehta.

After Naveen Patnaik, 20 ministers also took oath, almost half of them are first-time ministers. Odisha governor Ganeshi Lal on Tuesday evening appointed 11 cabinet ministers and 9 ministers of state on the recommendation of Patnaik.

DesPatnaik’s BJD won 112 seats in the Assembly, 5 less than the 2014 polls won, despite the fact that a number of political analysts predicted hung because of its large anti-incumbent wav and a resurgent BJP.

With the exception of Jharsuguda MLA Naba Kishore Das and Titlagarh MLA Tukuni Sahu, the 11 cabinet ministers that had sworn with Patnaik are old-fashioned. All but Ashok Panda are new faces among the 9 ministers of State.The council of ministers has now 21 members, including the chief minister, within 15% of the assembly force prescribed by the Sarkaria committee.

eminent cardiologist Dr Ramakant Panda, Dr. TP Das, gastroenterologist Dr Subrat Acharya, industry experts Kumaramangalam Birla, Naveen Jindal, Sanjeev Puri of the ITC, Tatas Steel’s MD Television Narednran, Tech Mahindra MD CP Gurnani, Mindtree president KK Natrajan, Puneet Da were present at the Oath ceremony.